Mishima: A Life In Four Chapters

Warner Bros. (1985)
Drama, Biography, Foreign
USA | Japanese | Color | 2h 1min

A fictional account of the life of Japanese author Yukio Mishima told in four parts. The first three parts relate events in three of his novels: The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, Kyoko's House, and Runaway Horses. The last part depicts the events of 25th November 1970.

Cast View all

Ken Ogata Yukio Mishima (segment November 25 / 1970) / Narrator
Masayuki Shionoya Morita (segment November 25 / 1970)
Hiroshi Mikami Cadet #1 (segment November 25 / 1970)
Junya Fukuda Cadet #2 (segment November 25 / 1970)
Shigeto Tachihara Cadet #3 (segment November 25 / 1970)
Junkichi Orimoto General Mashita (segment November 25 / 1970)
Naoko Otani Mother (segment Flashbacks)
Gô Rijû Mishima / age 18-19 (segment Flashbacks)
Masato Aizawa Mishima - age 9-14 (segment Flashbacks)
Yuki Nagahara Mishima / age 5 (segment Flashbacks)
Kyuzo Kobayashi Literary Friend (segment Flashbacks)
Yuki Kitazume Dancing Friend (segment Flashbacks)
Haruko Kato Grandmother (segment Flashbacks)
Yasosuke Bando Mizoguchi (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Hisako Manda Mariko (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Naomi Oki First Girl (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Miki Takakura Second Girl (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Imari Tsujikoichi Sato Madame (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Koichi Sato Kashiwagi (segment The Temple of the Golden Pavilion)
Kenji Sawada Osamu (segment Kyoko's House)
Reisen Ri Kiyomi (segment Kyoko's House)
Setsuko Karasuma Mitsuko (segment Kyoko's House)
Tadanori Yokoo Natsuo (segment Kyoko's House)
Yasuaki Kurata Takei (segment Kyoko's House)
Mitsuru Hirata Thug (segment Kyoko's House)


Barcode Format Region Released Edition
715515214810 Blu-ray 1, A May 22, 2018
5050629617139 Blu-ray
715515029728 DVD 1 Jul 01, 2008 Criterion Collection
085391153023 DVD 1 Aug 07, 2001
715515225311 DVD 1 Jan 08, 2019
7350036722647 DVD 2 Nov 18, 2011 Director's Cut
5425019003647 DVD 2 Sep 22, 2009
5425019005887 DVD
9780790760940 DVD
085391153061 DVD
6416548555911 DVD
8435181701804 DVD